top of page

How to donate your hair - the kindest cut of all.

Updated: May 19, 2020

Everything that you need to know about how, where to donate your hair & why it is so important.


Hello again!

Thank you for being here! This post is very important and it means the world to me that you are here. I'm aware that not everyone can donate their hair (mostly men). What you can do, is spread awareness to those that can! Let's get started, shall we?


If you are thinking about donating your hair- THATS AMAZING! With your help, someone will receive a beautiful wig that will help them restore their self-confidence! YOU ROCK!

Organisations/programs/hair salons: There are several organisations, programs that focus on turning your long hair into free of charge or low-cost wigs for people that due to their sickness struggle with hair loss. There are also hair salons that provide a cheap or free of charge hair-cutting service and they send your hair to the organisations.

In Madrid, Spain such service is provided by Are You Ready?

The costs of cutting your hair is 5 euros and it includes the shipping costs of the hair to the organisation. In the Jean Louis David hair salon in Poland (Cracow, Warsaw, Poznan) they provide a hair cutting service free of charge! I'm sure that you can find more hair salons that provide such a service in your country.


Research is key.

Before cutting your hair, make sure to:


1. Choose where to send you hair

Every program, organisation has it's mission and goals they want to reach. Make sure to choose an organisation with a mission that you support. You can find the answers to your questions on the website of the chosen program. Make sure to get all the answers before donating your hair. For me, personally the most important information was if the recipients will receive the wigs for free, and I was looking for an organisation where they provide wigs for children that suffer from hair loss due to the sickness or operation.


2. To read the hair donation requirements & check the required hair lenght

The required length depends on the organisation, so make sure to check it out on their webpage!

The lenght starts from 12 cm, some of the organisations require even 25cm! Make sure to do your research and choose an organisation according to the lenght you are willing to donate.


3. Find your new Hair style

Welcome to the fun part!

Make sure to choose your new hair style before your hair appointment.

Instagram, pinterest and google image it's a great source of inspiration! I checked a lot of #shorthairstyles hashtags, followed a lot of hair saloon, looked through their make-overs and looked on google image for #shorthair inspiration.

I also looked up cool hair styles I can do once I will cut my hair. It's important to be sure about your decision.


The day before:

1. Wash and dry your hair. DON’T use any hair products (hairspray, gel, or mousse)

2. Don't forget to: - bring the organization’s hair-cutting guidelines to the hair salon - bring the ponytail holders - bring a resealable plastic bag


On the day:

Make sure to go to a hair salon that is well informed on how to cut the hair in a proper way, so it can be donated according to the rules, OR provide the hair stylist with the organisations instructions. After the hair is cut, make sure to seal it in a safe way and send it to the provided address on the webpage of the organisation.

After everything is done, make sure to treat yourself. You just did something AMAZING!

Grab your favourite coffee, go eat your favourite meal or buy a new outfit that will go well with your new hair style! It's time to celebrate!


If you are interested in how I did it, read below :)


My story:

I was thinking about a change for a while now. During the summer I got inspired by Madeleine Daria Alizadeh, that donated 40 cm of her hair to the Verein Die Haarspender in Vienna, Austria. I decided to grow my hair a little longer, and cut it once it there will be enough to donate. I read online that you need to donate at least 12 cm. Little did I know that, at the end I ended up cutting around 40 cm, with around 35 cm that is going to be donated to the organisation. I'm happy that I did it and I encourage all of you to do the same. It doesnt have to be 40 cm, but why not 12?

If you can't donate your hair, make sure that you spread the awareness!

All of the stories prove that everyone can do something to make this world a better place. Even if it's so simple as cutting your hair, or supporting your friend that does so.

After a long research, I decided to donate my hair to the Fundacja Przyjaźni (Friendship Foundation) organisation in Poland that makes wigs for children that went through chemotherapy or had an operations. The Since few years now, Friendship Foundation receives hair donations from all around the world. Together with Rokoko company, they produce free of charge wigs.

So inspiring!


On Monday I will send my hair to the Friendship Foundation that is based in Warsaw, Poland. I'm very excited!

I hope that you enjoyed the read, and that you will spread the awareness of the issue and use the acquired knowledge, to guide those that want to donate their hair for a good cause.


If you have any questions don't hesitate to write me a message!

Thank you again for being here!


Yours truly, O.S


85 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page